.
News Alert
Top 20 High Schools In New Jersey: Ocean County…

Mayor Fressola: Manchester A 'Great' Place to Retire

A letter to the editor from Manchester Mayor Michael Fressola

Dear Editor:
 
Recently, both in print and on a website newspaper, there have been attacks on both me personally and the administration in general. Rather than dwell on the effect of this questionable diatribe, I thought I would like to give you some very good news regarding the township.

In the June 2012 edition of Inside New Jersey, a monthly publication of the Star Ledger, there is a very interesting report entitled “The Best Places to Retire in Jersey."  

The study is a “weighted tabulation that combines quality of life rankings, covering areas such as property taxes and access to health care and culture."

I am delighted to report, that out of 556 municipalities in the State of New Jersey, finished at No. 51 statewide and No. 2 in Ocean County.

The four criteria measured were median property tax; Manchester finished lower in that category than any of the 50 towns above us on the list. The next category was violent crime rate per 1,000 population; Manchester did extremely well in this category with a score of 0.60, well below the average. The other two categories are access to good medical care where Manchester finished No. 2 out of 50 on the list and cultural activities which was not a representative evaluation since it did not measure the cultural activities and amenities of our individual retirement communities.

All in all, I believe our retired residents should be delighted to have chosen Manchester as the place to retire. I know that if I retire after 22 years of service to the township, I will stay in this great town.

Sincerely,

Michael Fressola
Mayor           

walt tupycia June 10, 2012 at 08:08 PM
just watch out for the revenue getters when you drive thru this wonderful town.
knarfie June 10, 2012 at 08:38 PM
I thought everyone who lived there was retired.
julie wilson June 10, 2012 at 09:28 PM
Well if you were not speeding it would not have been a problem
walt tupycia June 10, 2012 at 09:40 PM
book him dano
walt tupycia June 10, 2012 at 09:41 PM
if there is no crime get rid of have the force who make 150k with benefits.
walt tupycia June 10, 2012 at 09:42 PM
stolen bike half the police force is looking.
walt tupycia June 10, 2012 at 09:44 PM
julie you do not have to be spending if you drive slow they will pull you over.This is all about money.The mayor recently said revenue is down.
walt tupycia June 10, 2012 at 09:44 PM
sorry speeding.
walt tupycia June 10, 2012 at 09:55 PM
what he really ment to say was that this town is a great town to get a ticket.This is the only town that gives out tickets to seniors who are taxpayers.This mayor needs to go back up north.
Bryan June 10, 2012 at 10:37 PM
Hey! We have great police force here & yes they do get speeders thats what they are paid well for! Dont speed & it wont be an issue. As for this mayor of at least 15 years or more he needs to retire is only for tje seniors and not the families of this town!
cathy June 11, 2012 at 09:35 AM
So walt, if your a taxpayer you shouldn't be ticketed? Hmmm. Very interesting.
Billabong June 11, 2012 at 11:08 AM
Ladies and gentlemen - our senior-centric mayor. Thanks again Mr. Mayor for slighting the middle class families. You do know that there are plenty of middle class families in Manchester, right? How about addressing our needs and what our families bring to the community once in every blue moon?
WhitingBoy June 11, 2012 at 11:09 AM
So to paraphrase the Mayor’s words: “Manchester is a great place to retire, so you must look the other way when I take thousands in political contributions to do favors for developers.” /Mayor winks at Pizzi & Pizzi //Mayor gives finger to general public ///Mayor drops microphone and walks off stage
julie wilson June 11, 2012 at 12:35 PM
Driving to slow should be ticket as well as the speeders there are alot of seniors who get out on route 70 and do 35 miles a hour if they are afraid to drive the they should quit. Each senior village has a bus that runs everyday or just about everyday. Route 70 has become a very dangerous road and is under review but that will take forever. I go down 70 when shopping and I will be doing 55 in a 50 and I get someone riding my a## thinking he can drive like being on the parkway. If everyone was not being in a big hurry we would not have all the problems. And as far as the mayor goes we will never get rid of him because this town is 80% seniors and the vote goes to the senior.
eruth June 11, 2012 at 07:51 PM
Yea definitely watch those revenue raisers. They even pull their own VOLUNTEER FIREMEN over for stupid reasons like unclear license plates and window tint. Leave the firemen alone. They are volunteers trying to do a good job.
S-MAN June 11, 2012 at 10:31 PM
I've lived in Manchester for six years (I'm not a senior). I've never been pulled over once.
Christopher C. Lehmann June 12, 2012 at 02:01 AM
Manchester caters to the seniors but not the rest of us!
ballyjduf June 13, 2012 at 06:45 PM
MAYOR YOU SAY Recently, both in print and on a website newspaper, there have been attacks on both me personally . WHY HAVENT YOU ANSWERED THE QUESTIONS ? WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO KEEP COSTS UNDER CONTROL ? WHY DID YOU FIGHT TO GET THE PIZZO PROJECT PUSHED THROUGH WELL PIZZO JR, KENNETH S 1065 RT 22 W BRIDGEWATER, NJ 08807 300.00 5/9/2010 CONSTRUCTION TRADES PIZZO & PIZZO BUILDERS & DEVELOPERS 1065 RT 22 W BRIDGEWATER, NJ 08807 FRESSOLA, MICHAEL, MUNICIPAL, 2010, MAYOR, MANCHESTER TOWNSHIP, NONPARTISAN INDIVIDUAL MONETARY PIZZO JR, KENNETH S 1065 RT 22 W BRIDGEWATER, NJ 08807 300.00 5/4/2010 CONSTRUCTION TRADES PIZZO & PIZZO BUILDERS & DEVELOPERS 1065 RT 22 W BRIDGEWATER, NJ 08807 WEINER, BRENDAN, MUNICIPAL, 2010, MUNICIPAL OFFICE, MANCHESTER TOWNSHIP, NONPARTISAN INDIVIDUAL MONETARY PIZZO JR, KENNETH S 1065 RT 22 W BRIDGEWATER, NJ 08807 600.00 5/4/2010 CONSTRUCTION TRADES PIZZO & PIZZO BUILDERS & DEVELOPERS 1065 RT 22 W BRIDGEWATER, NJ 08807 FRESSOLA WALLIS & WEINER CMTE TO RE ELECT, MUNICIPAL, 2010, JOINT CANDIDATES CMTE, MANCHESTER TOWNSHIP, NONPARTISAN INDIVIDUAL MONETARY PIZZO JR, KENNETH S 1065 RT 22 W BRIDGEWATER, NJ 08807 300.00 5/4/2010 CONSTRUCTION TRADES PIZZO & PIZZO BUILDERS & DEVELOPERS 1065 RT 22 W BRIDGEWATER, NJ 08807 WALLIS, CRAIG A, MUNICIPAL, 2010, MUNICIPAL OFFICE, MANCHESTER TOWNSHIP, NONPARTISAN INDIVIDUAL MONETARY
ballyjduf June 13, 2012 at 06:47 PM
WHY WOULD SOMEONE FROM BRIDGEWATER NJ GIVE $$$$$$$$ TO THE MAYOR OF MANCHESTER
MichaelH June 14, 2012 at 08:52 PM
Not everyone in the town is retired, but thank goodness there are retirees who look out for the families in town--they care and they come to the meetings to support. The Mayor and his staff certainly do not. See below that gentleman's comments on political campaigns. The Mayor says he is staying here when he retires--which better be soon for all the Township's sake--he'll be the first to take advantage of lower taxes down South and leave us with all the projects he pushed through.
MichaelH June 14, 2012 at 08:56 PM
Ballyjduff, Are there other projects were monies have been given by developers to the Mayor. We deserve to know. By the way, didn't he say in another print media that he was going to keep silent from now on? I guess he only does that when he feels it is something he doesn't want to answer like your questions or why he was so "disappointed to see the nursing home scam" go away.
ballyjduf June 15, 2012 at 01:35 PM
MAYOR ANY COMMENT . ARE YOU THAT SUPERIOR TO US TAX PAYERS THAT YOU DON'T HAVE TO ANSWER
UPeopleR2Much June 15, 2012 at 02:50 PM
Woah sounds like Walt has had some run ins with Manchester's Finest. I guess if you weren't doing anything wrong then you wouldn't get pulled over. And Eruth, maybe you should clear up your plates and take the tint off and you won't get stopped. As far as the rest of us law abiding, middleclass taxpayers under 55, push for the businesses to come in to bring revenue and VOTE instead of complaining.
MichaelH June 15, 2012 at 04:31 PM
Why do you think that pushing for businesses to come in will work? Talk to residents in Brick or Toms River and ask if bringing in the those for profits on every corner has lowered their property taxes. They will tell you no. All that supposed "ratables" from adding commercial businesses did not go into the residents' lowered taxes...so who benefited from this? When Toms River tried to collect property taxes from Dover Woods a few months ago the place filed for bankrupcy. Everyone misses the point...a town becomes a "town" by having residents (a.k.a. people) and making a community...a town never becomes a community by having the majority of its land occupied by businesses.
UPeopleR2Much June 15, 2012 at 05:07 PM
Michael remember to compare apples to apples. Toms River and Brick are not even a good comparison. TR is half the size with more than 3x the residents. There is a lot of open land in the 85 square miles in Manchester so it doesn't have to be TR overnight. I don't hear too many complaints from the Lacey or Stafford residents.
Mark Wendell June 16, 2012 at 09:20 PM
Manchester IS a great place to retire, all the mayor and committe care about are them! If any one thinks this mayor will answer any questions they are as nuts as the mayor. He calls his detractors words diatribe but what they really are is people with an opinion other than his. If asked a question he doesnt like he will quite simply walk away. (remember meet the Mayor at the library?)
Mark Wendell June 16, 2012 at 09:22 PM
@ballyduf, dont hold your breath my friend.
julie wilson June 16, 2012 at 10:00 PM
WOW
despicable me February 22, 2013 at 04:42 AM
DUDLEY FOR MAYOR! Keep fighting Henry Dudley, Please appeal if you can. Michael Fressola has done nothing for the township of Manchester outside the walls of the senior communities and I think I speak for many of the residents (outside senior living) when I say WE DO NOT WANT THIS MAN TO REPRESENT US ANYMORE! If I am wrong and you can name one good thing this man has ever done for us non-seniors please correct me.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something